Master Bedroom: Beach Chic

While I enjoy the major renovations, my true passion is working on the smaller DIY/ design projects. The first room I have been able to work on so far is our master bedroom. When we first moved to Florida a couple of years ago I found a gorgeous Hollywood regency style 1960s faux bamboo Thomasville dresser with two matching side tables  on Craigslist for $200! SCORE! These retail for over $1000 in vintage shops and online, and I love them!!

We kept them this color and used them as a bar and side tables for a sitting area/cocktail area in our old house, paired with some vintage rattan chairs. We do not have room for such a space in our new house. So….we decided to re-vamp them to use in our bedroom instead. I loved the looks of this paint job on a similar dresser: http://www.popsugar.com/home/Painting-1960s-Faux-Bamboo-Thomasville-Dresser-8005454

So, I chose the same for our dresser: Benjamin Moore’s Starburst Orange

It took a lot of sanding and a coat of primer (which I asked the store clerk to tint), plus 2-3 coats of the starburst orange, and a final coat of poly. It turned out B-E-A-utiful:

I left the hardware their original cream with gold accents. I painted the side tables white  and we use them as our nightstands:

DSCN7895

I found these gold lamps at Ikea for $10! The lampshade has gold lines on it and came from Target (products and their sources are listed below). I wanted to go with coral and turquoise as the two accent colors for our room, so I stuck with a plain white duvet cover (also Target), and found the accent pillows and throw from HomeGoods. The curtains are also from Ikea, and the rods are from Walmart. The headboard was a DIY project from a few years ago.

 

Product list:

White duvet cover ($30): Target

Dresser and nightstands: Vintage Thomasville

Accent pillows and throw: Homegoods

Curtains: Ikea (from a few years ago, not sure what they were called)

Lamps ($10): Ikea

Lampshades ($15): Target

 

Leave a Reply

